Governance 2018-02-15T02:55:53+00:00
Island Pathways is a British Columbia non-profit society and a registered Canadian charity.
Our Constitution & By-Laws are available here as a booklet, or here as a PDF.
To learn more about membership please visit our Membership page

Board of Directors

Island Pathways Constitution allows 11 board members, with 10 at present. Inquiries from those interested in joining are encouraged to contact a board member, or use this website’s contact form to let the board know.

Prospective board members, especially those with a particular project in mind or talent to offer, are welcome to sit in on a meeting. We would also be pleased to meet over a coffee or tea in town.

Brenda Guiled
Brenda GuiledPresident, 2011 - Present
Brenda was chair of the Bicycle Working Group from 2009-2014, when Bob MacKie took over. She’s keen to get a bikeway built through Salt Spring, to connect the island to the Lochside, Galloping Goose, E&N Humpback, Malahat, and Cowichan Valley Regional Trails. She’s created most of the publications from 2010 to present and does all web inputs.
Wendy Webb
Wendy WebbVice President
Wendy joined Island Pathways board in 1997. She is long-time vice-president and, for years, shared the presidency with Margaretha Nordine. She helped with getting 36 bike racks on island, assists Helmets for Life fittings and bike rodeos, and coordinated Heritage Map production, sales, and displays as posters on island and ferries. She is spearheading the creation of a new “Salt Spring Island on Wheels” cycling and driving map.
Valerie Short
Valerie ShortTreasurer
Valerie is Island Pathways very exacting treasurer, managing our books perfectly and reporting annually to Victoria and Ottawa, as required for our non-profit status in B.C. and Canadian registered charity.
Heather Biver
Heather BiverMembership
From 2011-2014, Heather was Island Pathways secretary and membership coordinator. She’s continuing with this latter, while staying active with community liaison, particularly donations in kind from supporting local businesses.
Jean Gelwicks
Jean GelwicksChair, Partners Creating Pathways
Jean is a long-time board member and the tireless engine behind Partners Creating Pathways. Since 2007, she’s spearheaded the building nearly $1-million worth of Ganges Village pathway infrastructure, costing local taxpayers about $250,000. These pathways are CRD community assets. She also spearheaded Island Pathways “Salt Spring Island on Foot” walking and hiking map, to be published in early 2018.
Margaretha Nordine
Margaretha NordineChair, Helmets for Life, Past President 2002-2011
Margaretha has been with Island Pathways since 1997. She’s the engine behind our Helmets for Life Program, which aims to ensure all island elementary students have properly fitted helmets and to learn safe-riding skills in bike rodeos. Since 2001, she’s fitted ~600 precious noggins with quality helmets for $10 cost to students, with community supporters picking up the rest of the cost.
Bob Mackie
Bob MackieChair, Bicycle Working Group
Bob joined the Island Pathways board in 2014 October. He immediately took over as chair of the Bicycle Working Group. He brings a keen, informed interest in the economic advantages of creating a community rich with walking/cycling/mobility-aid opportunities.
Cathy Lenihan
Cathy LenihanAt Large
Cathy’s been a director of Island Pathways since 2011. She’s a very active member of the Salt Spring Island Conservancy. She helps with all special events and some funding applications.
Robin Jenkinson
Robin JenkinsonAt Large
Robin joined the Island Pathways board in 2017 October, to be approved at the 2018 February AGM. She has a certificate in Urban Design from SFU, is an ecologist and project manager, and is keen on improving pedestrian and cycling safety and amenities on Salt Spring Island.
Elizabeth Fizzaland
Elizabeth FizzalandLiasion, Salt Spring Island Bike Park
Elizabeth and family moved to Salt Spring in 2013. She joined the Island Pathways board in 2017 October, to be approved at the 2018 February AGM. She is a cycling enthusiast with professional community planning and design expertise.